What are the Illinois concealed carry laws?
Handgunlaw.us has a great overview at the following link: http://www.handgunlaw.us/states/illinois.pdfWho may take the class?
You must be at least 21 years of age, possess a valid Illinois State ID or Driver’s License. You must not be prohibited by any State or Federal law from legally possessing a firearm, and you must be physically capable of safely and effectively operating a firearm.How do I get my license?
You can apply online with the Illinois State Police.How do I get my Florida license?
This class also fulfills the requirements for a Florida Concealed Weapon License. You may apply for that by mail.Can I fail the class?
The only way to fail the class is to intentionally violate one of the gun safety rules. Safety is the primary concept taught in the class and must be followed at all times.What should I bring to the class?
You should bring your Illinois ID, a pen and a notebook. Do not bring any loaded or unloaded firearms into the classroom.What are my transport/parking options getting to the event?
The Pace Bus stops at 142nd and Cicero or you may park in the lot across the street.What if I don’t have a pistol?
Is there an extra range fee?
Can I take the class if I’ve never fired a gun?
Absolutely. The class covers shooting fundamentals and the operation of a handgun. You will leave the class knowing the basics of shooting.Is my registration/ticket transferrable?
Yes it is. Please let us know who your registration is to be transferred to, so we can make the adjustment.What states is my permit valid in?
See the map in the Classes tab. Click on any state in this reciprocity map to see the states where that permit is honored.How long is my license valid?
Illinois CCLs are valid for 5 years. Florida licenses are valid for 7 years.How do I renew my license?
When I get my permit, should I carry a handgun?
Carrying a loaded gun is not meant to bring some excitement into your life. When you carry a concealed handgun, you take on an extra burden and a significant responsibility to yourself, your family and your community. You carry the means to protect life and deal out death. You will be held to a higher standard of conduct.
If you cannot accept this responsibility, adapt your lifestyle, and make a significant commitment to training, you should not carry a handgun. You will be a risk to yourself and those around you.